A felony DUI is a serious matter. A felony DUI in Oklahoma can result in life changing consequences and can have an extremely negative impact on your career life and family. Most obviously, its can result in you going to prison, receiving stiff fines, loosing certain civil rights and missing out on employment opportunities. The following explains what a felony DUI is in Oklahoma.
Typically, a first DUI in Oklahoma is a misdemeanor, but there are ways in which even a first DUI offense can becomes a felony. Generally, there are four ways in which a DUI can become a felony in Oklahoma.
- If you receive a second DUI conviction from a court of record within a 10 year period, it will be classified as a Felony
- If your DUI that results in substantial bodily injury or the death of another, it can be charged as a felony.
- If your current DUI is the third or subsequent offense, it will be classified as a felony.
- If you have a child in the car at the time of your DUI offense, it can be charged as a felony.
As can be expected, the penalties for a felony DUI are much more severe than for a misdemeanor DUI. With a felony DUI you are a facing the possibility of being sentenced to prison. A first-time felony DUI in Oklahoma can get you one-to-five years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. The consequences of each subsequent DUI will be even more severe and may include:
- A minimum three-year suspension of your driver’s license
- A minimum of one year and unto twenty years in state penitentiary,
- Up to $5000
- Mandatory alcohol and drug treatment
- Community service
- Having an ignition interlock device placed on your car for up to eight years.
The severity of the penalties you receive for a felony DUI conviction in Oklahoma will depend on a number of different factors including:
- Prior Alcohol elated offenses (DUI, DWI or APC);
- Your blood alcohol content (BAC);
- Whether your DUI involved an accident;
- Whether Your DUI resulted in serious bodily injury to another;
- Whether your case was filed in a municipal or state district court;
- Which judge hears your case; and
- Whether you had a child in the car.
In addition, to the court imposed fines, you will also be liable to pay any third party costs associated with your conviction, such as fees for alcohol treatment programs or having a monitoring device placed on your car. Furthermore, you will incur a significant increase in your auto insurance rates. It is not uncommon for a person’s insurance rates to triple after a felony DUI conviction.
Free Consultation: Oklahoma City DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI that can possibly be classified as felony DUI, its important to speak with an experienced Oklahoma City DUI Attorney as soon as possible. Call Criminal Defense Law Office of Oklahoma City at (405) 588-4529 (588-4LAW). There’s no cost and no obligation for an initial consultation with our Oklahoma City DUI attorney. Call today for answers to your questions, or If you prefer, you may send your question using the contact form at the top right side of this page.