People who just want to unwind or love to party need to exercise some discretion when going from one place to another while drinking liquor or other alcoholic beverages. This is because public intoxication in Oklahoma City is illegal under both state and city law.
About Public Intoxication in Oklahoma
Under Oklahoma City ordinance, “no person shall be found intoxicated in any public place or upon any private property not lawfully under his or her control.” § 30-85.
Similarly, under state law, it is also illegal for any person to be drunk or intoxicated on any public or private road, on any form of public transportation, or at any public gathering. It is also illegal for any person to disturb the peace because they are drunk or intoxicated for any reason. (Ok. Stat. Tit. 37 Sec. 8).
Penalties for Public Intoxication in Oklahoma
You may be charged under either Oklahoma city law or under state law. Either way, you will likely face a misdemeanor charge.
If you are convicted of public intoxication in Oklahoma, you will be required to pay a fine ranging from $10 to $100. You also may face between five and 30 days in county jail. (Ok. Stat. Tit. 37 Sec. 8)
Free Consultation: Oklahoma City Public Intoxication Attorney
While being charged with public intoxication in Oklahoma City can seem like a minor crime, you can face several days in jail and costly fines. A criminal defense attorney can help mitigate the penalties so that you can get on with your life. A lawyer can also protect your interests when dealing with the judge and prosecutor, who may not be on your side.
If you’ve been accused of public intoxication in Oklahoma, call the Criminal Defense Law Office of Oklahoma City at (405) 588-4529 (588-4LAW).
If you prefer, send your question directly to an Oklahoma criminal defense attorney by using the contact form at the top right side of this page.
All inquiries are confidential. Also, your first consultation is free.