Having your Oklahoma driver’s license suspended can be upsetting, especially if you have to drive in order to go to work or transport your kids back and forth to school.
However, driving under suspended license in Oklahoma City is a crime with potentially serious consequences.
FAQ: Driving Under Suspended License in Oklahoma
There are two ways to have your license suspended.
First, the state may require that your license is suspended if you’ve committed certain crimes. This is called automatic suspension.
Or, a judge or the DMV may decide to suspend your license for other reasons, even if the law does not require that your license be suspended.
Under Oklahoma law, license suspension is defined as:
“The temporary withdrawal by formal action of the Department [DMV] of a person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the public highways. Such action shall include the requirement of the surrender to the Department of said person’s driver license.” (Ok. Stat. Tit. 47 Sec. 1-173).
Automatic Driver’s License Suspension
Your license will be suspended automatically if you are found guilty of any of the following offenses:
- driving under the influence,
- lying on a DMV form,
- causing bodily harm to another person after failing to stop at a stop sign or light,
- failing to pay for gas,
- committing manslaughter or negligent homicide with your vehicle,
- hit and run,
- using your vehicle to transport, sell, possess or distribute drugs, or
- failure to stop for a school bus.
Other Possible Causes of License Suspension
Several other offenses may also lead to suspension of an Oklahoma driver’s license, although not automatically. (Ok. Stat. Tit. 47 Sec. 6-205)
In order to be convicted of a charge of driving under suspended license in Oklahoma City, a defendant must have been driving a motor vehicle upon:
- a public road,
- or other public place in Oklahoma.
Therefore, you cannot be charged with driving under suspended license in Oklahoma City while on private property.
Also, the prosecution must produce the DMV record to prove your license has been suspended.
Penalties for Driving Under Suspended License in Oklahoma
Anyone whose license was automatically suspended for any of the aforementioned crimes will have to pay between $500 and $5,000 in fines. He could spend up to one year in jail.
Anyone whose license was suspended or revoked for any other reason will have to pay between $100 and $1,000 in fines. She could also spend as much as a year in prison.
(Ok. Stat. Tit. 47 Sec. 6-303)
Free Consultation: Oklahoma City Traffic Attorney
Although it may seem like no big deal, driving under suspended license in Oklahoma City is a serious offense and can mean you pay thousands of dollars in fines or even go to jail.
If you’ve been charged with this crime, call the Criminal Defense Law Office of Oklahoma City at (405) 588-4529 (588-4LAW).
If you prefer, send your question directly to an Oklahoma misdemeanor attorney by using the contact form at the top right side of this page.